Coverart for item
The Resource Small blessings, Martha Woodroof

Small blessings, Martha Woodroof

Label
Small blessings
Title
Small blessings
Statement of responsibility
Martha Woodroof
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Tom Putnam, an English professor at a Virginia women's college, has resigned himself to a quiet and half-fulfilled life. For more than ten years, his wife Marjory has been a shut-in, a fragile and frigid woman whose neuroses have left her fully dependent on Tom and his formidable mother-in-law, Agnes Tattle. Tom considers his unhappy condition self-inflicted, since Marjory's condition was exacerbated by her discovery of Tom's brief and misguided affair with a visiting poetess. But when Tom and Marjory meet Rose Callahan, the campus bookstore's charming new hire, and Marjory invites Rose to dinner, her first social interaction in a decade, Tom wonders if it's a sign that change is on the horizon. And when Tom returns home that evening to a letter from the poetess telling him that he'd fathered her son, Henry, and that Henry, now ten, will arrive by train in a few days, it's clear change is coming whether Tom's ready or not. For readers of Helen Simonson and Anna Quindlen, Small Blessings is funny, heart-warming and poignant, with a charmingly imperfect cast of cinema-ready characters. Readers will fall in love with the novel's wonderfully optimistic heart that reminds us that sometimes, when it feels like life is veering irrevocably off track, the track changes in ways we never could have imagined"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1947-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Woodroof, Martha
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3623.O6685
LC item number
S63 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • College teachers
  • Husband and wife
  • Life change events
  • Fathers and sons
  • FICTION / Literary
Label
Small blessings, Martha Woodroof
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/527/9781250040527/image/lgcover.9781250040527.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1545546
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9781250040527
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2014000134
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1545546
  • (OCoLC)857982004
Label
Small blessings, Martha Woodroof
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/527/9781250040527/image/lgcover.9781250040527.jpg
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1545546
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9781250040527
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2014000134
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1545546
  • (OCoLC)857982004

Library Locations

    • Georgetown Peabody LibraryBorrow it
      2 Maple Street, Georgetown, MA, 01833, US
      42.7246895 -70.9897852
Processing Feedback ...