Coverart for item
The Resource The deer camp : a memoir of a father, a family, and the land that healed them, Dean Kuipers

The deer camp : a memoir of a father, a family, and the land that healed them, Dean Kuipers

Label
The deer camp : a memoir of a father, a family, and the land that healed them
Title
The deer camp
Title remainder
a memoir of a father, a family, and the land that healed them
Statement of responsibility
Dean Kuipers
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan. Bruce Kuipers was good at hunting and fishing, but not at anything else that makes a real father or husband. Distant, angry, and a serial cheater, he destroyed his relationship with his wife, Nancy, and alienated his three sons--journalist Dean, woodsman Brett, and troubled yet brilliant fisherman Joe. He distrusted people and clung to rural America as a place to hide. So when Bruce purchased a 100-acre hunting property as a way to reconnect with his sons, they resisted. The land was the perfect bait, but the moment the sons arrived, none of them knew how to be together as a family. Conflicts arose over whether the land--an old farm that had been degraded and reduced to a few stands of pine and blowing sand--should be left alone or be actively restored. After a decade-long impasse, Bruce acquiesced, and his sons proceeded with their restoration plan. What happened next was a miracle of nature. Dean Kuipers weaves a beautiful and surprising story about the restorative power of land and of his own family, which so desperately needed healing. Heartwarming and profound, The Deer Camp is the perfect story of fathers, sons, and the beauty and magic of the natural world"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
LBSOR/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kuipers, Dean
Dewey number
977.4/59
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
LC call number
F572.O3
LC item number
K85 2019
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Kuipers, Dean
  • Kuipers, Dean
  • Fathers and sons
  • Deer hunting
  • Country life
  • Farms
  • Oceana County (Mich.)
Label
The deer camp : a memoir of a father, a family, and the land that healed them, Dean Kuipers
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The deer camp -- Hello, Winter Maker -- The big chair -- The darkness -- A boat -- Muskrat Island -- God in the many -- Animal talk -- Back to the cabin -- First plantings -- The other Kuipers -- Does sand dream of trees? -- Sends a deer -- Trails End Motel
Control code
on1083160844
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
xv, 286 pages
Isbn
9781635573480
Lccn
2018059379
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1083160844
Label
The deer camp : a memoir of a father, a family, and the land that healed them, Dean Kuipers
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The deer camp -- Hello, Winter Maker -- The big chair -- The darkness -- A boat -- Muskrat Island -- God in the many -- Animal talk -- Back to the cabin -- First plantings -- The other Kuipers -- Does sand dream of trees? -- Sends a deer -- Trails End Motel
Control code
on1083160844
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
xv, 286 pages
Isbn
9781635573480
Lccn
2018059379
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1083160844

Library Locations

    • Georgetown Peabody LibraryBorrow it
      2 Maple Street, Georgetown, MA, 01833, US
      42.7246895 -70.9897852
Processing Feedback ...